DWI/DUI

If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher, you will be cited for driving under the influence (DUI). DUI/DWI is a serious crime in New Jersey. New Jersey has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test, then you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Even if you are charged with a DWI/DUI you still have legal rights. One of those is the right to speak to an attorney. So, if you have been arrested for DUI/DWI, then you should immediately contact a New Jersey DUI/DWI defense attorney without any delay.

The state of New Jersey has imposed harsh penalties including:
• Fines, fees and surcharges
• License suspension
• Ignition interlock device
• Jail time
• Community service

New Jersey has extremely tough laws for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) and refusing to take a Breathalyzer test. By Statute, even first time offenders are subject to a mandatory loss of license and potential jail sentence. These consequences can have a devastating affect on a person’s career and family.

If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with DUI, DWI or Refusal you need to speak to Joel Silberman as soon as possible to start preparing a defense.

Defenses
  • Constitutional Defenses – Unconstitutional Stop of your vehicle
  • Improper Procedure – The police failed to follow protocol
  • Road Side Sobriety Test Results
Sentencing Consequences
DWI/DUI Defense Attorney New Jersey First Offense – Blood Alcohol Content between .08 and .10%

  • 3 Month Loss of License
  • Up to 30 days in the County Jail
  • $250 to $400 Fine
  • Approximately $500 other State related Fees
  • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years
  • 12 to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

First Offense – Blood Alcohol Content .10% or Greater

  • 7 months up to 1 year Loss of License
  • Up to 30 days in the County Jail
  • $300 to $500 Fine
  • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees
  • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 2 years[/one_half]

Second Offense

  • 2 Year Loss of License
  • 2 to 90 days in the County Jail
  • $500 to $1000 Fine
  • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees
  • Community Service
  • 12 to 48 Hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 5 years
  • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years

Third and Subsequent Offenses

  • 10 Year Loss of License
  • Mandatory 180 days in the County Jail
  • $1000 Fine
  • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees
  • Community Service
  • 12 to 48 Hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 13 years
  • $1500 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years

Why Choose The Law Offices of Joel Silberman, LLC?

Attorneys at the law office of Joel Silberman have been serving clients in New Jersey from more than a decade. We provide aggressive and diligent criminal defense representation to clients who are facing charges for DUI/DWI. We have extensive knowledge of New Jersey DUI laws . We have the necessary experience and skills in handling DUI matters.

Contact a Jersey City and Newark DWI Defense Attorney

After being convicted under DUI charges, you can still protect your rights. You have the right to contact your DUI defense lawyer. We will work to protect your rights, and fight on your behalf to avoid a serious criminal conviction.
Call our Jersey City DUI/DWI attorneys at the law office of Joel Silberman, LLC 800-889-3129 (toll free) or 201-273-7070 for a free consultation.

Frequently Asked Questions about DWI Defense

DUI/DWI Faq’s