Possession of Marijuana and Drug Paraphernalia – In New Jersey the Possession of less then 50 grams of marijuana is generally a Disorderly Persons offense pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a).
The penalty for a conviction of this offense is up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $1000, driver’s license suspension of up to two years and other mandatory assessments that total in excess of $600. New Jersey has also criminalized the Possession of Drug Paraphernalia. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2 it is unlawful to use or possess with the intent to use drug paraphernalia.
Like Possession of Marijuana, this too is a Disorderly Persons for which the penalty for a conviction of this offense is up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $1000, driver’s license suspension of up to two years and other mandatory assessments that total in excess of $600.

The Law Offices of Joel Silberman has negotiated numerous cases involving Possession of Marijuana and Drug Paraphernalia on behalf of our clients. We have been highly successful in negotiating agreements that allow for the charges to be dismissed and we have also had great success in saving our clients’ driver’s licenses from suspension.