Traffic Offense Defense Lawyer in New Jersey – What Happens If You Leave the Scene of an Accident?
Whether it is a major or a minor accident, the driver should remain on the scene and report to the police. In New Jersey, failure to remain on the scene will result in a summons for 39:4-129 which is “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” and 39:4-130 which is “Failure to Report Accident.” The situation is worse when the person leaves the scene which resulted in serious physical injury. That person will be charged criminally with 2C:12-1.1 which is “Leaving the Scene of an Accident Resulting in Serious Bodily Injury.”
Penalties in NJ
- In case of only property damage, a conviction will result in 6 months suspension of driving privileges, a fine of $200 to $400, and/or 30 days in jail.
- If a person leaves the scene of an accident after causing an injury, then a conviction will result in 1 year suspension of driving privileges, a fine of $2500 to $5000, and/or 180 days in jail.
- There is a penalty for failure to report accident, but it is less severe. It requires the driver to report to the police within 10 days of the accident which resulted in personal bodily injury or death or property damage.
Contact Our Traffic Offense Defense Lawyer in New Jersey
When you have been arrested for leaving the scene of an accident, then a traffic offense defense lawyer in New Jersey can help. Attorney Joel Silberman has extensive experience in defending clients and offers skilled representation throughout New Jersey. Call 201-420-1913 for a free initial consultation with Attorney Joel Silberman.